The ‘Offline’ Effect

Recently, I’ve been spending a lot more time ‘offline’. The word offline is in those for a reason. I say offline, but really I’m not offline.

Let’s start by just 2 months ago, I’d come home and the first thing I would find (after food) was my laptop. I’d pull it up, open Tumblr, Facebook, Instagram and YouTube and sit on it for hours until, I either needed to wash my hair or have dinner. It was unhealthy and lethargic on my part, but everyday without fail there I’d sit thinking about how shitty I felt by sitting there doing it to myself.

Fast forward a month, nice guy came in for a visit (I say visit, we’re pretty much living together now, more on that at a later time) and bought his Apple TV. At this stage he was here and his friend was in as there was some Pro Golf tournament on nearby, but I find when nice guy is here I don’t spend as much time ‘online’ as I would usually, which really helps to start with. But when they left I found, I didn’t search for my laptop, I would turn the TV on and find something to watch on Netflix. Now here’s where you’re probably going ‘ahhh I see why you’re saying ‘offline” and that’s exactly it. I come home and turn Netflix on (currently obsessing over Gilmore Girls), but I don’t just sit and watch anymore.

With Netflix being on the TV you can do so much more with the time you have. Not only can you fold washing because your laptop isn’t in the way, you can go and clean the kitchen or the dinner table or put things in the bin without having to cart your laptop everywhere because you’re trying to keep up with whatever Zoella did with her day that day.

I’m finding also with the option to watch it on the TV I’m spending more time doing work at work than wanting to come home. Maybe I’m growing up or maybe I’ve started to realise that not everything needs to happen or be seen at that moment in time.

I feel like this is just the start of my offline adventure.

Talk to you soon,

Jess

Instagram

Leave a Reply

